top of page

Spoon Pie aka Fruit Cobbler


Cobbler is a dessert classic in my family, so it was only natural that apple cobbler came to mind when thinking of an easy crowd-pleaser when inviting Nico's family over for dinner. When I presented them with the cobbler, however, they didn't really know what to make of it.

"Is that a pie?" asked Nico's aunt.

"No," I answered, "it's like a pie, but there's no crust, just the crust on top. It doesn't really come out in pieces like a pie."

"Hmmm..." she eyed it, "What is it called?"

I racked my brain; "cobbler" isn't very easy to pronounce for a French-speaker and doesn't really translate. "Spoon pie," I finally said, "because you serve it with a big spoon." They must have liked it, because since then, I have been the recipient of many buckets of fresh fruit depending on the season accompanied by, "Maybe you can make some more of that spoon pie."

So without further ado, I give you: Spoon Pie. The recipe was originally given to me by a family friend, Cathleen. Since then, I've made it in Louisiana, Lebanon, and France. This cobbler is truly an international crowd-pleaser!

Spoon Pie aka Fruit Cobbler

*Use an 8 x 11 pan for this recipe or a very large pie dish. I often divide the recipe in half and use a normal-sized pie dish or a smaller oblong Pyrex.

½ Cup Butter

Batter:

1 ½ C. flour

1 ½ C. sugar

1 ½ C. milk

1 tsp salt

4 tsp baking powder

4 C. chopped fruit and ½ C. sugar (I find that apple and banana go really well with the butteriness of the crust, but you can use anything from peaches to frozen berries.)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350°F.

Place the butter directly in your pan and let it melt it in the oven.

Mix fruit and sugar together and set aside.

Mix batter together and pour onto melted butter (spread around so it is even).

Spoon fruit mixture on top of the batter.

Bake at 350°F for 45 minutes (check the browning/doneness before 45 minutes).

Enjoy!

If you like what you read, don't forget to subscribe below to get updates! You won't hear from me more than once a week. ;)

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page